Skip to main content

Advancing Guilford's Mission

Guilford College’s Board of Trustees is the governing body exercising ultimate institutional authority as set out in the Bylaws of Guilford College. This authority, upon the recommendation of the President of the College, includes:

  • Determining and periodically reviewing the College’s mission
  • Monitoring the College’s financial condition and approving the annual budget, tuition and fees
  • Approving institutional policies bearing on faculty appointment, promotion, tenure and dismissal
  • Reviewing and approving proposed substantive changes in degree programs
  • Approving degrees as recommended by the faculty
  • Authorizing the construction of new buildings, the major renovation existing buildings and the purchase or sale of land

The board’s authority and responsibilities also include:

  • Participating actively in strategies to secure sources of support
  • Contributing to fundraising goals
  • Appointing the President
  • Annually assessing the President’s performance

Pink blossoms in front of a blue sky outside of Dana Auditorium
Board of Trustees


  • Jean Parvin Bordewich, Chair, playwright, consultant and former Congressional Staff member, Washington, D.C.
  • Daniel D. Mosca, Secretary, Investor, Browns Summit, N.C.
  • Frederick H. Taylor Jr. ’77, Treasurer, Managing Director and Portfolio Manager, MJX Asset Management, LLC, New York, N.Y.


  • Carla Brenner ’73, Retired Contract Writer, National Gallery of Art, Washington, D.C.
  • Glynis Hill-Chandler ’78, Assistant Head of School and Counselor, Hill Learning Center, Durham, N.C.
  • Suresh Chandra, Professor Emeritus, N.C. A&T State University, Ponte Vedra, Fla.
  • Wendy Gates Corbett ’91, President of Signature Presentations, LLC and Adjunct Professor of Leadership at Duke University,
    Raleigh, N.C.
  • Shannon Craigo-Snell ’92, Professor of Theology and Associate Academic Dean, Louisville Presbyterian Theological Seminary, Louisville, Ky.
  • Bill Davis, District Court Judge, N.C. District 18, Guilford County, Greensboro, N.C.
  • Eric D. Hart, Ed.D., Vice President for Programs and Strategic Fund Development, Payne Center for Social Justice, Summerfield, N.C.
  • Harrison Hickman ’75, CEO and Founder, Hickman Analytics, Inc., Washington, D.C.
  • David J. Hopkins ’91, President and CEO, Urban League of Greater Hartford, Hartford, Conn.
  • Brian Lowit ’98, Label Manager, Dischord Records and Owner, Lovitt Records & Mount Desert Island Ice Cream (DC), Washington, D.C.
  • Keith Ivory Millner '82, Co-founder/President Coaching Catalyst, LLC, Atlanta, Ga
  • Brooks Raiford, President & CEO, North Carolina Technology Association, Cary, N.C.
  • Darryl A. Spivey, Ph. D. , M.B.A., VP & CFO, Your Write Hand, LLC, Kernersville, N.C.
  • Grace E. Terrell M.D., MMM, Physician, Atrium Wake Forest Network, High Point, N.C.
  • Johnny Wood ’74, Principal at the accounting firm LBA Hayes Strand, PLLC, Greensboro, N.C.
The sun shines through the leafy trees on campus.
Trustees Emeriti
  • Walter P. Blass, President, Strategic Plans Unlimited, Warren, N.J.
  • Joseph M. Bryan, Jr. ’60, Board Chair Emeritus, Greensboro, N.C.
  • Kathleen M. Coe, Retired Clergy, Jamestown Friends Meeting, Greensboro, N.C.
  • David A. Edgerton ’62, Retired Vice President/CEO, Glen Raven, Inc., Fort Myers, Fla.
  • Victor I. Flow, Jr., President, Flow Lexus, Winston-Salem, N.C.
  • James T. Forsythe, Retired Vice President, Ansythe Exploration Co., Inc., Brenham, Texas
  • H. Curt Hege, Sr. ’56, President, Shields, Inc., Winston-Salem, N.C.
  • Howard T. Hinshaw ’60, Retired Physician, Charlotte, N.C.
  • Bruce B. Stewart ’61, Headmaster Emeritus, Sidwell Friends Schools, Washington, D.C.
  • Edward C. Winslow, III, Partner, Brooks, Pierce, McLendon, Humphrey & Leonard, LLP, Board Chair Emeritus, Greensboro, N.C.