Past Presidents of Guilford College

  • Lewis Lyndon Hobbs, 1888-1915
  • Thomas Newlin, 1915-1917
  • Raymond Binford, 1918-1934
  • Clyde A. Milner, 1934-1965
  • Grimsley T. Hobbs, 1965-1980
  • William R. Rogers, 1980-1996
  • Donald W. McNemar, 1996-2002
  • Kent John Chabotar, 2002-2014



Guilford College’s Board of Trustees is a governing body exercising ultimate institutional authority as set out in the Bylaws of Guilford College . This authority, upon the recommendation of the president of the College, includes: determining and periodically reviewing the College’s mission; monitoring the College’s financial condition and approving the annual budget, tuition and fees; approving institutional policies bearing on faculty appointment, promotion, tenure and dismissal; reviewing and approving proposed substantive changes in degree programs; approving degrees as recommended by the faculty; and authorizing the construction of new buildings, the major renovation existing buildings and the purchase or sale of land. The board’s authority and responsibilities also include participating actively in strategies to secure sources of support, contributing to fundraising goals, appointing the president and annually assessing the president’s performance.

Board of Trustees Meeting Dates

  • Winter Board Meeting - Friday, Feb. 24 through Saturday, Feb. 25, 2017
  • Spring Board Meeting - Friday, June 2 through Saturday, June 3, 2017

Scheduled Commencement Dates

Saturday, May 20, 2017

Board of Trustees Members

  • Edward C. Winslow III, Chair; Managing Partner, Brooks, Pierce, McLendon, Humphrey & Leonard, LLP, Greensboro, N.C.
  • Marilynn D. Bersoff, Vice Chair; Retired Senior Executive of Administration, Bethesda, Md.
  • Nancy K. Quaintance, Vice Chair; Vice President, Quaintance-Weaver Restaurants and Hotels, Greensboro, N.C.
  • Martha W. Summerville ’76, Secretary; President, Summerville Consulting LLC, New Haven, Conn.
  • David C. Hood ’84, Treasurer; Retired Partner, Ernst & Young, Raleigh, N.C.
  • Gilbert D. Bailey ’91, Executive Vice President, Beanstalk Data, Charlotte, N.C.
  • Daryle L. Bost ’93, Senior Development Officer, Williams College, Williamstown, Mass.
  • Carla Brenner '73, Retired Contract Writer, National Gallery of Art, Washington, D.C.
  • D. Victor Cochran, III ’71, President, Sharp-Carter Corporation, Greensboro, N.C.     
  • Teresa L. Graedon, Treasurer, The People’s Pharmacy, Durham, N.C.
  • David Hopkins '91, Chief Executive Officer, Primary Care Health Services, Inc., McKees Rocks, Pa.
  • John L. Lomax, President, Lomax Construction, Inc., Greensboro, N.C.
  • D. Hector McEachern, President, The McEachern Group LLC, Greensboro, N.C.
  • Christopher K. Mirabelli, Managing Director, Health Care Ventures, Dover, Mass.
  • Daniel D. Mosca, Investor, Browns Summit, N.C.
  • Coolidge A. Porterfield, Consultant, Greensboro, N.C.
  • Brooks Terrell Raiford, Chief Executive Officer and President, The North Carolina Technology Association, Inc., Cary, N.C.
  • Charlotte M. Roberts, President, Blue Fire Partners, Inc, Sherrils Ford, N.C.
  • Lawrence C. Ross, Retired IT&S Infrastructure Architect, IBM, Greensboro, N.C.
  • Wilson M. Sheldon, Jr., CEO, Friends Homes, Inc, Greensboro, N.C.
  • Andrew D. Steginsky, Manager, Steginsky Capital LLC, New York City, N.Y.
  • Frederick H. Taylor Jr. '77, Managing Director and Portfolio Manager, MJX Asset Management, LLC, Bronxville, N.Y.
  • Ione L. Taylor ’76, Executive Director, Queen's University, Kingston, Ohio.
  • Judy L. Whisnant ’78, Attorney at Law, Durham, N.C.


  • Edward J. Bauman, Retired Management Consultant, Greensboro, N.C.
  • Walter P. Blass, President, Strategic Plans Unlimited, Warren, N.J.
  • Joseph M. Bryan, Jr., Board Chair Emeritus, Greensboro, N.C.
  • Kathleen M. Coe, Retired Clergy, Jamestown Friends Meeting, Greensboro, N.C.
  • David A. Edgerton ’62, Retired Vice President/CEO, Glen Raven, Inc., Fort Myers, Fla.
  • Thomas W. Evaul, Jr. '51, Professor Emeritus, Temple University, Merchantville, N.J.
  • Victor I. Flow, Jr., President, Flow Lexus, Winston-Salem, N.C.
  • Marietta M. Forlaw, Retired Community Leader, Greensboro, N.C.
  • James T. Forsythe, Retired Vice President, Ansythe Exploration Co., Inc., Brenham, Texas
  • W. Groome Fulton, Jr. ’60, Retired CEO, Fulton Enterprises, Inc., High Point, N.C.
  • Howard H. Haworth ’57, President, The Haworth Group and Haworth Foundation, Inc., Charlotte, N.C.
  • H. Curt Hege, Sr. ’56, President, Shields, Inc., Winston-Salem, N.C.
  • Howard T. Hinshaw ’60, Retired Physician, Charlotte, N.C.
  • Bruce B. Stewart ’61, Headmaster Emeritus, Sidwell Friends Schools, Washington, D.C.
  • Eldora H. Terrell ’49, Retired Physician/Internal Medicine, High Point, N.C.