GUILFORD

COLLEGE

DEPARTMENT of MUSIC

Annual Spring Concert

featuring

Seraphonic
The Early College at Guilford
Amanda Brier, student coach

LUMINA treble ensemble THE GUILFORD COLLEGE CHOIR

Wendy Looker, director
Norris Norwood, collaborative pianist

THE GUILFORD GUITAR ENSEMBLE

Kami Rowan, director

GUILFORD COLLEGE JAZZ ENSEMBLES

Drew Hays, director

Sunday, April 6, 2025 7PM Dana Auditorium

free & open to the public

PROGRAM

The Guilford College Guitar Ensemble

Earth Song Alan Hirsh

Seraphonic The Early College at Guilford

Skyfall Adele Adkins arr. J.A.C. Redford

From the Start Lauffey & Spencer Stewart

arr. Paul Seow

Better Place (Family Harmony) from Trolls 3 Johan Jarl Schuster, Justin Timberlake

& Amy Allen

arr. BK Riha

Die with a Smile Lady Gaga & Bruno Mars arr. Kole Mccrum and Yerik Godoy

Amanda Brier, student coach

LUMINA treble ensemble

Wild Embers

Melissa Dunphy (2017)

lyrics by Nikita Gill

There is a Balm in Gilead Trad., arr. Ysaye M. Barnwell

Under the Willow Stephen Collins Foster arr. Susan LaBarr

The Guilford College Choir

Norris Norwood, pianist

Nitohtamok Askîy (Listen to the Land) Woodland Cree poem & music

by Sherryl Sewepagaham (2019)

Wide Open Spaces Sarah Quartel (2014)

City Called Heaven African-American Spiritual

Destini Nyorkor and Richard Acquaye, soloists arr. Josephine Poelinitz

Does the World Say? Kyle Pederson(2022)

Oli Metwally & A'Niyia Dancy, soloists

Love Is Love Is Love Abbie Betinis (2017)

You Will Be Found

from DEAR EVAN HANSEN

Benj Pasek & Justin Paul
arr. Audrey Snyder

Jah Vivens, Ashritha Chinapaga, Joe Lambert, Amanda Brier, soloists

Student Composition World Premiere

Andantino and Allegro for Saxophone and Piano

Neal Sengupta

Drew Hays, alto saxophone

Suzanne Polak, piano

The Guilford Jazz Ensembles

No Consensus Octet

Impressions John Coltrane

Frankie and the Freeloaders Sextet

Little Sunflower Freddie Hubbard

Beansprouts Septet

Swingin' at the Haven Ellis Marsalis

GUITAR ENSEMBLE

Jasmine Cartwright **Shemar Roberts**

Bec Cormack Luke Trainor

Nox Crobsy Yanka Castro Xinaxtle Lexi McGraw

LUMINA treble ensemble

Ember Boswell A'Niyia Dancy Ali Nance '22

Amanda Brier **Audrey Horner** Janet Ngo

Ashritha Chinapaga Kaitlyn LaFleur Destini Nyorkor

Sole Williams-Brewer Lexi McGraw Zoe Whisnant

THE GUILFORD COLLEGE JAZZ ENSEMBLES

No Consensus Octet

CharLee-Kyle Stines - violin Shemar Roberts - guitar Ethan Blaskowski - bass

Nick Jamieson - bass clarinet Neal Sengupta - piano

Bec Cormack - guitar Cindy Wang - piano Drew Havs - drums

Frankie and the Freeloaders Sextet

Aixa Araujo-Cortinas - clarinet Drew Hays - alto saxophone

Brady Odell - guitar Frankie McClernon - bass

Eli Troop - piano Kevin Landa - drums

Beansprouts Septet

Drew Hays - alto saxophone

Malcolm Hill - piano Ziggy Jones - baritone saxophone Kelsie Hughes - vibraphone Rvan Allen-Schindler - drums

Lexi McGraw - guitar Brandon Walker - bass

THE GUILFORD COLLEGE CHOIR

Soprano

Rasun Abderasoul Aixa Arauio Amanda Brier* Ashu Chinapaga Janet Ngo Destini Nyorkor* Kaitlyn LaFleur Oli Metwally Bess Parnell

Altn

Eileen Anava A'Niyia Dancy Lexi McGraw* Ananya Ramesh Vanessa Ramos-Medrano

Tenor

Alex Fox Joseph Lambert Samanyu Manjanath **Shemar Roberts** Raine Shingleton*

Bass

Ahmaad Abdul-Hagg* Richard Acquaye **Igor Tennant** Jahmarley Vivens

2024-2025 Choir Council

Amanda Brier, Destini Nyorkor, Lexi McGraw, Raine Shingleton and Ahmaad Abdul-Hagg *Choir Council members are recipients of the Edward Lowe Scholarship