Presidential Transition and Search

In March 2013, President Kent John Chabotar announced his retirement effective June 30, 2014. The Board of Trustees conducted the search for Guilford College’s ninth president beginning in the summer of 2013. Trustee chair Joseph M. Bryan Jr. ’60 selected a 15-member search committee that was approved by the board in June 2013. Trustee Carole W. Bruce was chair of the committee. The committee completed its work in April 2014 when the board appointed Jane K. Fernandes as president effective July 1.

Leadership Profile

The position specification is intended to provide information about Guilford College and the position of president. It is designed to assist qualified individuals in assessing their interest in the position. It was developed by the Witt/Kieffer executive search firm with input from Guilford trustees, the Presidential Search Committee, faculty, staff, students and alumni.

Search Committee

  • Carole Bruce, Trustee, Presidential Search Committee Chair
  • Joyce Eaton, Liaison
  • Daryle Bost ’93, Trustee
  • Vic Cochran ’71, Trustee
  • Ed Winslow, Trustee, Board Chair-Elect
  • Kathy Coe, Trustee Emerita
  • David Dobson, Professor of Geology
  • Barbara Lawrence, Assistant Professor of Justice and Policy Studies
  • Kami Rowan, Associate Professor of Music
  • Sandy Pearman ’80, Director of Enrollment Information (Admission & Financial Aid)
  • Suzanne Ingram, Assistant Director of Communications and Marketing – Outreach (Advancement)
  • Jon Varnell, Vice President for Administration
  • Lyes Benarbane ’14
  • Jessica Hilliard ’15, Treasurer, CCE Student Government Association
  • Bradley Anderson ’77, President-Elect, Alumni Association
  • Paul Kress ’82, Board of Visitors


The Presidential Search Committee is interested in your comments, suggestions, and questions related to the presidential search process.

To contact the search committee chair, send an email to